Tags

, , , ,

Homoderus gladiator (male) - an African Stag beetle

Homoderus gladiator (male) - an African Stag beetle

I am naughty.  When I thought – and knew! – I have ENOUGH beetles, I went and got more.

This time Stag beetles – the Lucanidae – to be exact, Homoderus gladiator.  I cannot thank Andre enough.  They’re excellent little beetles…the surface of their bodies looks like smooth polished wood; long, bent, probing antenae; and fearsome looking antlers!

Regarding breeding, Petr says they’re difficult.  I must ask someone for advice…

***UPDATE***

Petr recommends adding pieces of bark (Oak) in which they will lay their young.  You can pick up small pieces in local woods, parks or your garden.  As a precaution to prevent diseases and pests from harming your pet insects, always pre-freeze wood overnight: I wrap the logs in 2 plastic carry-bags and put in my food freezer (away from the food!)

For Homoderus is best to go to the forest and get branches and small logs of different deciduous trees in different stage of decay, then beetles choose the most suitable one for laying.  Don´t worry about eggs, they are really small and barely visible, but larvae you should be able to see inside the wood. – Petr of http://www.flower-beetles.com

[Above photo: male left, female right (with her nose stuck in the beetle jelly!)]

I don’t think they fly.  So far I’ve only noticed them walking about and burying themselves in the substrate to sleep.  All 3 x pairs have been mating so maybe the ladies are laying eggs now?

The above photo shows a Lady Lucanidae.  She has shorter antenae, much smaller ‘antlers’ and has a slightly shorter body length.

I’ll be adding more photos soon 🙂

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Familia: Lucanidae
Subfamilia: Lucaninae
Tribus: Homoderini
Genus: Homoderus
Species: Homoderus gladiator

Origin: Cameroon.  Where is Cameroon?

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

*

i love flower beetles blog

www.FlowerBeetles.com

