Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Mecynorrhina ugandensis

Lady Mecynorrhina ugandensis - a velvety green BIG(!) beetle

Lady Mecynorrhina ugandensis - a velvety green BIG(!) beetle

Lady Nora, the Mecynorrhina ugandensis flower beetle usually comes out at night, and loves to climb the walls and ceiling of the Bella Abode.  She is certainly the largest flower beetle I currently have – even bigger than the polys (Chelorrhina Polyphemus) – measuring about 2 inches! 
Unfortunately I don’t have a mate for her, so can’t be expecting any babies…  The seller (not Andre) was awkward to deal with, talked about sending a male, but she poorly communicated with me despite me taking time translating my emails from English to her Czech language.  Another odd thing: though she wrote her return address was in Czech, the package was certainly delivered from Germany (and I recognised the familiar stamps).  I won’t be dealing with her again.   
Lady Nora under the beetle ladder

Lady Nora under the beetle ladder

Under bright light you can make out the copper colour under her wings, a kind of fluff which makes me think of frilly knickers.  Her legs have magnificent jagged spurs.  She is a quiet, shy beetle.
The beetles like climbing this 'mouse' ladder!

The beetles like climbing this 'mouse' ladder!

*
Copyright Stephanie Faith 2011
