Tags

, ,

Mrs Bella, Christmas 2010

Mrs Bella, Christmas 2010

Christmas Day Mrs Bella joined Mr Bella in Beetle Heaven.  I was saddened to see her go.  The Bellas were my very first exotic beetles and such a joy to watch and care for.

Aphelorrhina Stephanorrhina generally live  (as adult beetles)  for 4 – 6 months.

I will never forget my excitement at opening the package Andre sent me that August day.  Everything was carefully packed so the journey for the 2 bellas (or rather, stephs!) and their travelling companions, 6 x Smaragdesthes Africana Oertzeni children (grubs), was comfortable and safe.

I put both tubs containing the exotic insects on the table and pondered in which the bellas were.  I was afraid of opening the tub and the bellas flying out – and thus losing them!  But I needn’t have been nervous: after a couple of minutes, I detected movement, and the most beautiful beetle I’ve ever seen came to the surface.

Christmas stars in the Bella abode.

Christmas stars in the Bella abode.

 

As a Christmas present, the inhabitants in the Bella abode received a tiny metal ladder, which is propped up on the heather pot.  These ladders are advertised for pet mice but are equally excellent for exotic beetles – as they love to climb!

Unfortunately we had another beetle death, the female Dicronorhina derbyana layardi.  I expect this was due to old age.  I don’t know whether she had successfully mated with the male of her species, but we’re sure to soon find out.  I now have a lone male Dicronorhina derbyana layardi… and a lone Mecynorrhina ugandensis.

Such a shame adult beetles have a short lifespan.

Mr + Mrs Bella together

Mr + Mrs Bella together

Copyright Stephanie Faith 2011
